harry potter and the philosopher’s stone – movie review

Adaptation of the first of J. K. Rowling’s popular children novels about Harry Potter, a boy who learns on his eleventh birthday that he is the orphaned son of two powerful wizards and possesses unique magical powers of his own. He is summoned from his life as an unwanted child to become a student at Hogwarts, an English boarding  school for wizards. There, he meets several friends who become his closest allies and help him discover the truth about his parents’ mysterious deaths.

I have seen this movie before, but not for a very long time, and I wasn’t really sure what to expect watching it now. Would it be entertaining? Boring? Childish? Only watching it once more would tell me if my older self enjoyed the movie just the same.

And I loved the movie! I’d explain the plot but, I mean, most people would know the general gist of it anyway.

I was surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did. Truth be told, I did have quite low expectations when deciding to watch it. And that just made the movie seem all that much better! Whether that’s a good or bad thing? I’m not too sure.

Anyway, I’ve actually seen all the Harry Potter movies, but like I said before, not for a very long time! And now that I’m reading the book series, I thought I would watch each movie after finishing the book it is based off of!

harry potter quote

talk later,

Indy xx

instagram | twitter | last post

3 thoughts on “harry potter and the philosopher’s stone – movie review

  1. skynimbusx says:

    So glad you’re enjoying it!
    As a Potterhead, I do agree with the general consensus that the movies could’ve been so much better had they stayed truer to the plot. But to be very honest with you, I think the movies have their own charm.
    Watch all the movies!
    Afterwards, watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them! Beautiful movie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

