shuffle the music tag!

lonelymeme from Life In A Blogshell has tagged me to do the shuffle the music tag! A tag she created herself!! And I’m very excited to complete this tag! I think it might be my favourite ever invented! It’s such an amazing idea!

THE RULES

  • Mention the creator of the tag and link to their blog.
  • Thank the person that nominated you for this tag and link to their blog as well.
  • Shuffle your entire music library (no matter how old the songs are) and talk about the FIRST FIFTEEN songs that come up (anything like why there are there, if they signify something, any story, why you like them ect.)
  • Mention the songs as well as the artists.
  • Tag 7 people or more to do this tag and please let them know!

LET’S SEE WHAT I GOT AFTER GIVING MY MUSIC LIBRARY A SHUFFLE!

  1. Do I Wanna Know by Arctic Monkeys: I feel like this song is a true classic. I mean, who hasn’t at least heard this song at least once, even if it was just on the radio or background noise in a busy cafe. I also think that this song – when you really listen to the lyrics – actually has a really strong meaning and is kind of sad. It’s also quite an accurate representation of the Arctic Monkeys music style.
  2. Truce by Twenty One Pilots: This song was never really that special to me and didn’t hold much significance… until I went to their concert and they played this song near the end and it was the perfect unwinding song. And since then I’ve loved and valued this song so much more, and it’s definitely the type of song I’d listen to right before I go to sleep.
  3. Sweetie Little Jean by Cage The Elephant: I actually just recently found out what inspired this song, and it makes the lyrics make a little more sense. Of course I already knew it was about someone disappearing but I thought they ran away. And after watching an interview with the band I found out that it’s actually about a kidnapping. It’s based off a childhood experience that Matt – the lead singer – experienced when a girl from his neighbourhood went missing.
  4. HEAVEN by Troye Sivan: I used to listen to Troye Sivan all the time when his album first came out, but slowly I started to drift away from it as I found new songs and artists. I still listen to his music every now and then and I really like how soft and mellow all his songs are, but I don’t think I’d ever be as in love with his songs as I used to be, which is kind of sad but also an inevitable part of growing.
  5. Empty Gold by Halsey: I think this song is one of my favourite’s of Halsey’s. Of course, I have all her songs because they are amazing! But what I really like about her music is how strong it makes you feel. She has a very strong voice and combined with the lyrics and beat it makes you feel as if you’re unstoppable. I feel like she is such a fantastic role model for young girls and – having watched quite a few interviews – I can see that even though she has a strong character she is also really sweet.
  6. Lucky by AURORA: I love AURORA! Her voice is breathtaking. Haunting. And her album is so great. I remember her saying in an interview that it’s all about making peace with the bad things in your life – hence the name: All My Demons Greeting Me As A Friend. And I think that especially shows in this song as she talks about being lucky to simply be alive.
  7. Sober 2 (Melodrama) by Lorde: I’m really glad that out of all of her songs from her new album I got this one! This is probably one of me favourites and I can’t help but like it better than Sober, which always seems backwards to me but its how I feel. I feel like Lorde’s music has really matured since her first album and it really shows how much she’s grown as a person.
  8. A Car, A Torch, A Death by Twenty One Pilots: Again, another one of my favourites. All Twenty One Pilots songs have quite strong messages but I think the songs from their self titled album have so much more depth and sadness and I love it. Especially this song. It’s all about leaving behind a loved one and sacrificing yourself for them. I feel like every single word in this song is so carefully thought out and put together.
  9. Quit Your Job by Thundamentals: Now this is a throwback to the days when I really liked this duo. I must have been in around twelve – yes, a twelvie – when I started listening to them, and I even went to see them in concert because they were an opening band for Hilltop Hoods. I’m not really too embarrassed about liking them because they’re not a bad band at all, but it’s just not me anymore.
  10. One For The Road by Arctic Monkeys: Definitely not one of my favourites of their songs. I feel like there are much better songs that deserve more recognition than this one.. but it’s not really bad either. Just probably one of my least favourite from their AM album. I also think that Arctic Monkeys have a very specific feel with this album, and while One For The Road definitely fits into that sound I also think that it’s doesn’t live up to the other songs.
  11. Buzzcut Season by Lorde: Yes! I’m so glad I got a song from this album! This is probably going to sound really weird but this album really reminds me of summer. I don’t know exactly what it is about it but I listen to these songs and thats what I think of. I love this album, and was slightly annoyed when Melodrama didn’t top it. Pure Heroin will always hold I special place in my heart for me, and I’m just so glad that – even though it doesn’t sound like this anymore – Lorde is still making music.
  12. Ten Thousand Hours by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis: I used to love Macklemore! I bought their whole album – this was in the same phase as when I liked Thundamentals. I don’t have the whole album anymore, but I still have some of their songs and this is one of them. This song is about how people are defined by the grades they receive and the marks they achieve and how that shouldn’t be what is seen as a basis for your worth, as you can still build a great life for yourself even if a piece of paper tells you otherwise.
  13. Ribs by Lorde: Another Lorde song! I used to really love this song in particular and it was because of the verse: “this dream isn’t feeling sweet / we’re reeling through the midnight streets / and I’ve never felt more alone / it feels so scary, getting old”. Those words just made me relate so much to the meaning of the song and how it is terrifying growing old, and I just have some extreme nostalgia listening to this song right now!
  14. Strangers by Halsey: I feel like the songs my Spotify is giving me is making me look so basic. There are so many hidden gems and I keep getting dished-out really popular artists like Arctic Monkey, Lorde, and Halsey. But anyway, this song is okay. It’s definitely not one of my favourites from her new album. I find it kind of repetitive at times, and if you’re wondering why I even have it it’s because there are two types of people in this world. Song people and album people. I’m an album person. I like songs as a whole of a collection more than I do as an individual piece.
  15. The Louvre by Lorde: So, after my mini rant.. Spotify gives me another popular artist. Okay then. But if I’m being serious, I actually really do like this song. I think it’s one of the best from the album.. although, if I had to choose a favourite it would be Writer In The Dark… but this would definitely be second or third.

I NOMINATE…

  1. It’s Simply Me, Jasmine
  2. Ella, Cactus Clique
  3. 2am by Rose
  4. Adventures of a Lost Teen
  5. Little Teen Blogs

I know you’re meant to chose seven… but there were only five blogs that I found that this tag would be something for them. Because obviously, I don’t want to tag a book blogger for a musical tag… hahahah.

I was honestly really surprised I only got one Cage The Elephant song and only two Twenty One Pilots song because… I have 64 Cage The Elephant songs and 46 Twenty One Pilots songs. And I only got a few rock songs.. when I have 113. And I got no songs from The Neighbourhood! But anyway, thats just why I got seriously annoyed about the lack of variety that I was receiving.

I really enjoyed completing this tag, and I would love to do it again one day! 😉

talk later,

Indy xx

instagram | twitter | last post

 

4 thoughts on “shuffle the music tag!

Leave a Reply

