harry potter and the philosopher’s stone by j. k. rowling – book review

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Through Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doubt so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

Full of sympathetic characters, wildly imaginative situations, and countless exciting details, the first instalment in the series assembles an unforgettable magical world and sets the stage for many high-stakes adventures to come.

A lot of people are probably really surprised that I haven’t gotten to this book sooner. And I guess it’s probably because I’ve already read the book. But that was back in year four or something, so I don’t really think that counts.

As you probably know, Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone is about Harry Potter and his two friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley, and their adventures in which they uncover the mystery behind the special stone. The story starts off with Harry and Ron meeting, and later coming to be friends with Hermione.

So far, I can see why Harry Potter is such a highly regarded middle grade series. Although it is mainly aimed at a younger audience, it is still very entertaining for any age. The novel is also quite easy to read, and paints the most vivid image of a wizarding world.

This book was actually better than I expected, which is surprising because I had quite high expectations going into it. I flew through the book, reading it in a matter of days, and am already a little ways into the next.

harry potter and the philosopher's stone

talk later,

Indy xx

instagram | twitter | last post

13 thoughts on “harry potter and the philosopher’s stone by j. k. rowling – book review

  1. sincerely me says:

    I just finished reading the Harry Potter series again as well. I always remember that I loved it but I was still surprised at how great it was. Now I realise why it has such a massive fandom. I think it has such a complex plot line but you don’t realise until everything falls into place at the end. Have fun reading the rest of the series.
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoe says:

    Harry Potter is one of my favorite series of all time and so I am so glad you enjoyed this as much as I did. 🙂 I cannot wait to see what you think of the rest of the series – in my opinion each book just keeps getting better and better. xD Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

