isla and the happily ever after by stephanie perkins – book review

“The cafe is boiling. The atmosphere is clouded with bittersweet coffee. Three years of desire rip through my body and burst from my lips: “Josh!” His head jolts up. For a long time, a very long time, he just stares at me. And then…he blinks. “Isla?””

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on brooding artist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And, after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer break, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to face uncertainty about their futures, and the very real possibility at being apart.

Set against the stunning backdrops of New York, Paris and Barcelona, this is a gorgeous, heart-wrenching and irresistible story of true love, and the perfect conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

This book is… obviously a romance novel. If you couldn’t tell already. I must say, it’s pretty good, although its not as good as Lola and the Boy Next Door. It’s probably my least favourite in the series, but having said that, that doesn’t mean I don’t like it.

I’m not going to lie, there weren’t many huge or important issues in this book. One thing I’ve definitely noticed about Stephanie Perkins’ books is that all the kids are wealthy and entitled. I mean, Josh has family problems, and he hates school, and Isla only has one friend. But other than that, there isn’t much to say for the depth of the book.

I’ve said before, in another review, that the author’s writing style is what sucked me in, so I’m not going to say much on that point. But basically, if the writing style lacked in quality, I probably wouldn’t have finished the book.

This book was kind of disappointing, because I really wanted Isla to be less shy and to have more friends, and in a way she did come out of her shell, but I just wish that she would have completely come out. And the book was kind of predictable, after reading Stephanie Perkins’s other books, because I knew there was going to be a fight or an argument, because it has happened twice before.

This book wasn’t the most unique thing I’ve come across. I think the most unique thing about it was that her best friend didn’t have a thing for her. They were simply friends. I should probably mention that her best friend is a guy… unfortunately I have already forgotten his name.

Overall, I’d give this book a 3/5 stars. Having said that I am comparing it to the author’s other books in the series.

What do you think of this book?

talk later,

Indy xx

Leave a Reply

