origin by jessica khoury – book review

I have chosen “Origin” to do my first book review on because I believe it was that one book that truly sparked my love of reading. I must have read this book around 4 years ago now, and I still remember loving it so much.

“Origin” is about a girl named Pia, who was raised somewhere deep win the Amazon, by a team or scientists. Her whole life her only goal was to fulfil the expectations of the scientist she thinks of as her family. But one day, she finds a hole in the seemingly impenetrable fence that surrounds her sterile home, so she sneaks out to explore the jungle, where she meets a boy named Eio. She continues to escape into the jungle, while the scientists proceed to challenge her further and further. But there’s a dark secret surrounding her immortality, and slowly she and Eio will piece together the truth.

I personally love Origin because it has a refreshing new aspect on what it means to live forever. I followed the journey of Pia and her discovery, not only of herself, but of the world around her.

This story is an excellent introduction to the Young Adult Science Fiction genre for anyone looking to branch out, and I would highly recommend it.

Have you read Origin?? If so, what are your thoughts and feelings on it?

talk later,

Indy xx

Leave a Reply

