passengers

Yesterday my friend texted me, asking if I wanted to do something with her. I had nothing to do that day other than pick up a present for that friend, because it is her birthday on the 15th and I’m going away soon, as you might now if you’ve read some of my other posts. So I said to my friend, let’s call her Sarah. Oh, and if you’re wondering why I change my friends names it’s just in case they found this blog and were mad that I’d told people all about our lives. But back to what I told Sarah; I said that I’d love to do something and asked if she had anything in mind. She then suggested going to see “Passengers”.

I should probably point out here that I’m going to have spoilers if you read any further and that this also is not a movie review but me simply talking about what I got out of the movie.

If you haven’t heard of “Passengers” it is a movie that is currently in the cinemas. It’s set on a ship that is travelling in space to a new planet, and everyone is asleep in hibernation pods, because the time to travel takes like 120 years. But then one of the hibernation pods breaks and wakes up Jim Preston. Soon Jim realises he’s the only one awake and discovers he was woken up 90 years too early. After a year of searching for a way to get back into hibernation he begins to lose hope. Then, he stumbles across Aurora Lane’s hibernation pod.

Aurora has dreams, she wants to make history by being the first journalist to travel to a new planet and back. She had a whole plan about being a journalist and writing. When Jim discovered her he read everything he could find that she wrote. Then he finds a way to break her out of hibernation, but he knows in doing so he’ll be damning her to the same life as him, to live out the rest of their years on the ship, alone, and dead before it reaches its destination.

After weeks of thinking about it, Jim decides to wake her up. When she wakes she is convinced that it was a pod malfunction just like his and she searches for weeks looking for a way to go back. Jim decides that they’re better off if she doesn’t know that he woke her up.

Then all this other stuff happens where this crew member wakes up, but then he’s sick and he discovers that there is something seriously wrong with the ship and that they are basically on a sinking ship and if they don’t find the problem and fix it they’re all going to die. Then that crew member dies. Aurora and Jim find a way to fix the ship with lots of trouble and drama as you would only expect. They basically save 5,000 people from dying, while likely making history in the process. Fast forward to the ending.

When all is good and Jim almost dies but doesn’t, they find out that they can set up this thing in the medical wing to become a hibernation pod, but only one of them can go in it. Jim obviously tells Aurora to take it, but she refuses and decides to stay awake and grow old and die with Jim.

Now. What I liked about this movie was by far the ending, because think about. Aurora has these dreams, to make history, by becoming the first journalist in history to travel to another planet and back. Then, those dreams are crushed when she was woken up to early. She still manages to make history, by saving 5,000 people all asleep a sinking ship. And then, when she gets the chance to fulfil those dreams of hers, she decides that she is happy with what she has already accomplished. I should also mention that when the rest of the ship woke up, Aurora and Jim had basically turned the ship into a jungle, by planting trees everywhere, which makes me happy because they didn’t leave the world silently. They left something behind so that everyone knows they were there.

The point is, you can have dreams and goals, we like to think that we are in control, but we are simply passengers in life, and we need to make the the most of our situation. Because no one really know what they want, we all just think we know. And even though you may not achieve what you want in life, you have the potential to achieve far greater.

….but maybe I’m just reading too much into the movie.

What did you think of the movie?

talk later,

Indy xx

6 thoughts on “passengers

  1. itsonlyagirlsblog says:

    Your definitely not reading too much into the movie in my opinion anyway. I saw the movie the other day and everything you just said totally makes sense. I loved the movie and really enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. itsonlyagirlsblog says:

    You are definitely not reading too much into the movie and everything you said makes complete sense. I saw the movie the other day and I really enjoyed it well anything with Jenifer Lawrence I love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

